Destiny’s child

The vicissitudes of life are such. The grass is always greener on the other side. It is lame and such a cliche to avoid than say that the grass is greener on the other side. For the longest time I yearned for what I have now – a satisfying job with a promise of a bright career. In other words, stability. The job that would have me not think about what I am to do in the next year. The job that would keep me occupied.  I am cognizant of how much of a better position I am in than many others. Yet, life now seems mundane. A programmed life with full knowledge of what the next day and all the days thereafter is to give. 

The pursuit of happiness, I realize, is in the struggle to achieve all that is hard to attain. Right now, I want a challenge. At the least, I have a need to work hard for something.  I have chalked up a list of things that might spark my interest. Renew my interest in learning Spanish. Take up certifications. May be both. 🙂

*****************************************************************************************************************

A landmark decision is made by the fed today. There are no longer going to be independent investment banks. It fundamentally changes the structure of the wallstreet. Boy, Am I happy to be in New York in the wake of all this. To be a spectator, a mute one at that, nevertheless from such closeness, is to me a privilege.  I have seen the frowns on every person in the trains. I have seen the frustration on people who lost jobs. A few I know who lost jobs and the severity it caused them. To watch the system which I am a part of go through such turbulent times is the best experience ever. It has taught me to respect a lot of things in life. Going back to my previous thoughts, it reminds me nothing is stable. If it is, it is not right.  There is always a hard time to go through afterwhich everything brightens up. Like the clear skies after storms. 

***************************************************************************************************************

“A little rudeness and disrespect can elevate a meaningless interaction to a battle of wills and add drama to an otherwise dull day” -Calvin & Hobbes

Parting thoughts. How CnH helps me put so many of my thoughts in perspective! It is amazing. And it sounds so simple.

~ by Inspiration for the every day girl! on September 22, 2008.

3 Responses to “Destiny’s child”

  1. Nice Blog. Would you like reading hindi blogs? You are invited to my blog – http://hindivani.blogspot.com

  2. I’ve enjoyed enjoyed reading your blog.

    Cheers!

  3. I see it is over 3 years since my last comment. I hope this one finds you well, in a place you always wanted to be, and of course – happy! 🙂 Best wishes for 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
